Indianapolis, IN.  The American Basketball Association (ABA) today announced its playoff format for the 2015-2016 season.  “This year, a total of 36 teams will be competing in the playoffs for a shot at the ABA Championship trophy,” stated ABA co-founder Joe Newman.  The Final Eight will meet in Laredo, TX beginning April 4th.  “This is the most competitive season ever with no clear favorite.”

Round 1 will consist of seven divisional match-ups of four teams.  Seven teams will receive a bye in the first round that will be played on Mar 12,13.
Northeast:  Baltimore Hawks vs New York Court Kingz
                   Bronx Holy Flames vs York Buccaneers
                   Winners play – Winner to play Jersey Express
Gulf Coast: Mid-South Echoes vs Jackson Showboats
                   Bowling Green Bandits vs Southwest Warriors
                   Winners play – Winner to play Mobile Bay Tornados
North Central:  Windy City Groove vs Oakland County Cowboys
                         Chicago Fury vs Steel City Yellow Jackets
                         Winners play – Winner to play Chicago Steam
Michigan:    Grand Rapids Danger vs Vehicle City Chargers
                    Kalamazoo Pure vs Team Network
                    Winners play – Winner to play West Michigan Lake Hawks
Southwest:  Austin Boom vs Texas Skyriders
                    Texas Red Wolves vs Texas Fuel
                    Winners play – Winner to play West Texas Whirlwind
Florida/Georiga: South Florida Gold vs Georgia Gwizzlies
                           Atlanta Wildcats vs Atlanta Aliens
                           Winners play – Winner to play DMV Warriors or Richmond Elite
Florida:          Georgia Kingz vs Atlanta Storm
                      Native Pride vs Daytona Sharks
                      Winners play – Winner to play Miami Midnite
Jacksonville Giants will meet winner of Southwest Division for final spot in Final Eight. Laredo Swarm will have a bye to the Final Eight.  First round match-ups subject to slight change.  For more information, visitwww.abaliveaction.com or www.americanbasketballassociation.org.
Thanks all.
Joe Newman
7 years ago
ABA NewsHighlights
No Comments
Written by abaliveaction
ABA Executive

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *